Texas DWI Penalties

Penalty for DWI —
Houston, Galveston, League City, Texas

Tad Nelson & Associates provides experienced and aggressive DWI defense representation to people throughout Galveston County and the Houston metro area. Our Texas DUI lawyer, former Galveston County assistant district attorney Tad Nelson, understands how prosecutors approach these cases and uses that knowledge to help our clients minimize or avoid the consequences of an arrest and conviction.

If you have recently been charged with drunk driving — contact us in League City, Texas, to arrange a time and place where we can talk.

DWI Penalties for a First Conviction:

  • Up to a $2,000 fine for first offense DWI
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension: 90 days to 1 year

DWI Penalties for a Second Conviction:

  • Up to a $4,000 fine for second offense DWI
  • 30 days to 1 year in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension: 180 days to 2 years

DWI Penalties for a Third Conviction (Felony):

  • Up to a $10,000 fine for a third offense DWI
  • 2 to 10 years in the state penitentiary
  • Driver’s license suspension: 180 days to 2 years

Community Supervision

Community supervision/probation may allow 1st and 2nd-time offenders to avoid spending additional time in jail. That said — probation is no picnic and can include drug/alcohol treatment, a significant number of hours of community service, and educational classes. People convicted of felony DWI charges are technically eligible for probation but the likelihood of receiving it is not good. Probation requirements for any individual will grow more stringent with each conviction.

Other Felony DWI Charges

In addition to the third offense felony classification, felony charges are also brought in cases that involve accidents, serious and fatal injuries, or driving drunk with minor children in the car. These charges include Intoxication Assault, Intoxication Manslaughter, and DWI with a Child Passenger. Penalties for a conviction on any of these charges are similar to those for a conviction on a third offense.

Put a *Board-Certified Criminal Law Specialist and
Former Assistant District Attorney in Your Corner — Call (281) 280-0100

Call our firm directly at 888-765-6514 or contact us online to get the answers you’ve been looking for and the legal representation you need today.

Major Credit Cards Accepted
Evening, Weekend, and Off-Site Appointments Available

*The Texas Board of Legal Specialization certifies attorneys in 20 specific areas of law; certification in any of these areas requires substantial demonstrated experience and skill, positive peer evaluations, ongoing legal education commitments, and the passage of a rigorous test.